YUDEN000: T02 v. T01

Just bought a 100 spindle of YUDENT02 (8x DVD+R), and am perplexed by its apparent lack of quality. This is T02 Rev 00, full-face printable, bought from SVP in the UK. Serial numbers are 5C532A104489PG (embossed in center ring) and TG001159 (printed in centre of dye).

Attached are images showing PI-PO scans of various burns at both 4x and 8x. As you can see, this 8x rated media is significantly worse than the 4x rated T01 Rev 01 at both speeds. I’m using a Plextor PX712A, f/w 1.05, master on IDE2, running in Ultra DMA mode. Burning with PLextools Pro v2.20. Any thoughts?

I have no experience with Plextor drives and TY, but I have some T02 and have burned and scanned it on 6 different drives with nothing close to the errors you see. I would return it and ask for a replacement.

T02 and T01-01 are very similar media, and so with proper firmware support they should burn very much the same. So you are either looking at poor firmware support or poor media. Suggest you search the Plextor forum for similar problems.

I’ve had some burns of T02 on my PX-712A that gave a similar PIE error graph pattern, but the values were nowhere near as high as that 8x burn (more similar to the 4x burn but with a lower maximum, usually around 40). Other batches of T02@8x on the same burner have yielded results like the T01@4x burn. I’d simply say try a different batch of T02 discs before making a decision to RMA the drive. I think that was my mistake with going thru five PX-712As; I wasn’t fully aware of the variability of media.

It might be noted here that there are burners that don’t suffer such problems with T02 “variability”. While there is always small diffferences in batches, nothing like what is seen here. OPC should easily compensate for variations in media, that’s what it’s designed for.

That’s not to say that this particular batch of TY might not be poor. But this is not the first example of poor Plextor performance that’s been reported.