XP Display properties problems

Good Day to Everyone. I am trying to make the screens more readable for certain applications in vain. Adobe Photoshop Elements displays its palette well, toolbar and tools in very small font. After working for half an hour one gets eyestrain. I tried to make these font and tool icon displays larger. Alas without success. Adobe does not offer any customisation possibility for this. I started playing around with Windows display properties but that does not help either. I increase the size of whatever you can think of available under display properties, but it has no effect on Adobe displays. Help is welcome. Thanks in advance.

As a continuation of the topic being discussed I wish to bring up a related problem. After modifying the sizes of various screen elements I ended up with the active icons on the taskbar becoming very small squeezed in two lines in a corner of the taskbar. I have tried to find a solution to this issue, but in vain. Help will be highly appreciated.

Have you tried changeing the DPI setting in display properties > settings > advanced (Im just guessing names since I don’t have and english version of windows)

Yes I have. Presently the 3 crucial parameters are as follows:

1. Resolution 1280x1024 - 19 inch flat screen.
  2. Extra large fonts.
  3. Custom 168 DPI i.e. 175% of normal.

If other applications display larger fonts as a result, then it is a problem with adobe and if they don’t make the size customizeable, then there’s not much you can do about it.