Writing data to a DVD

vbimport

I’m pretty new to DVD writing, considering i’m posting in the newbie forum. I’m a little confused how exactly I would write a buncha’ files onto a blank DVD disc.

~ dem0n

What do you want to write ?

Just files -> Nero
Some movie -> Gotta recompress it to 4.7Gb’s
Mpegs or whatever kind of movies -> Gotta re-encode them

What kind of files in specific?.. Umm, anything you’d find on a desktop… .txt files, .bmp or .jpeg files, .zip files… Things like that.
Another thing, would I need to go out and purchase a new program to write this? Or is there something free out there that I can use?..

Usually when you purchase a retail dvd writer , you will get a bunch of software with it (mostly fit for THAT writer only).

My dvd writer included the Pinnacle Studio and Nero software.

Well, i’ve currently got an Adaptec CD writer, but when I put in a blank DVD disc and tried to write some things on it, it told me that I didn’t have enough room for it… Which is why I searched around for an answer, here.
All I need to know is the basics, if you would be so kind.
In a nutshell, you’re saying I cannot write data onto a DVD without a writing program specifically designed for writing DVD’s?

no try using nero the best program
you dont have to use a software designed for that writer only

I tried the trial version of Nero, and it gave me something about “Auto Insert Notification”…
I clicked “Continue at my own will”, but after that, it only gave me the option to create CD’s, not DVD’s. Anybody know what’s wrong?

Could you give us some specs of your computer system ?

Especially the brand and type of your dvd writer.

I’m on a 1 ghz Pentium III, 128mb of ram and an 80gb harddrive.
I have an Adaptec CD-RW writer, that came with my computer.

The actual name of it is, Adaptec Easy CD Creater 4.