Would you keep this DVD?

Howdy all.

A short premise: I’ve been burning DVD’s since almost 3 years now, first with an LG GSA4081B and now with an LG GSA4160B. Those burners don’t support PI/PO quality scans, therefore I always selected my DVD blank media based on this forum suggestions but mostly on their play-ability on my readers (a Philips and a Samsung home theater, an LG LH4280V standalone burner, a Pioneer DVD-106 reader on the PC).

I used for a long time Ritek G04 4x DVD-R’s, which played well on all my units and still are well readable after 1-2 years. I moved to Verbatim MCC003 DVD+R 8x when they came out, now I’m using Verbatim CMC MAG E01 DVD+R 8x which replaced the MCC003 on EU market.

Now, to the point: I borrowed a Lite-On unit this week-end and tested a few of my new and old discs. I ran into this DVD (a RiDisc Ritek G04 burned on the GSA 4180B 18 months ago) and I noticed that the scan is quite “bad”.

Would you keep this disc or re-burn it, if the data were relatively important to you? The disc still runs perfectly on all my PC drives

Consider that now I’m getting THIS sort of scans with the Verbatim’s:

You need to rescan these at 4X in order to tell.

Scan at 4x speed instead of max for relaible results. I would toss the Ritek.

If it was your important data, I’d keep it…If it were my important data, I’d reburn it. Keeping two copies is cheap insurance anyway.

The scan at 4x is even worse… I’ll re-burn it :rolleyes:

I highly recommend you use those Ridiscs as coffee mugs coasters once you are finished backing them up.

Those are pretty bad scans - even for Ritek - Either you ended up with crappy media to start with or it got worse - either way I’m surprised you can still play this on your DVD player with PIFs so high :slight_smile:

Greg, that’s exactly the point.