Wondering why I can't write directly to DVD DL

Hello Guys,

I am fairly new at DVD copying.
I am trying to copy a complete dvd with the CLONE option
I am reading from a SL DVD and wanting to write to a DL DVD with a DL disk in the drive.

It is going through the process of ripping to disk first.
Why does it do this ?
It seems to me it would be faster going right to the BURNING?

Thanks in advance,

Kevin

:d :d :d

if you have two drives, you can use the write existing data option and copy on the fly.

you can burn on teh fly, but it’s not recommended. if your reader ends up hitting a tough patch and slows down to a slwoer speed than your burner then you’re screwed with buffer underrun errors and a coaster.

it takes longer, but you have less of a risk of errors when you rip first then burn.

But why do you want to burn on a DL disc?
You’ve mentioned that the source disc is a SL disc.

rapid fire,
I was gonna ask that too! Doesn’t make any sense.

And a backup made via ripping and burning on the fly, even with an original that is in pristine quality, could fail with even the slightest hickup from your computer, such as moving the mouse.

Whisperer

If he’d like to waste a DL, so let him do! :wink:

I couldn’t quite understand that before. I see now, “write existing data” use the DVD ROM drive! What an idiot I am. It’s obvious really. :o

So just for fun, I tried it and yes, I have a coaster!!! Just what I always wanted. :smiley: Now I have three! :bigsmile: The other two were my stupid fault as well.

I meant I was READING from a SL DRIVE not DISK.
Thanks for hopping on that error though.

Seems to me that these programs should be able to write directly if they are truly able to make CLONES.

Thanks.

You can write directly to a DL disc, but what you mean with SL Drive a single drive and does that mean you’ve one drive?
Also like mentioned before here you’ll be on the safer side with a rip on your hd.

Again.