Win 7 64bit not detecting ext esata HDD?

vbimport

i have a problem , i just bought this new pc , now when i plug in my ext 1.5tb HDD via sata cable (esata) into the back of the pc it detects the hdd while the pc is booting up, i can see its listed there , but then when the pc is ready the hdd cant be seen anywhere at all, now i went to disc management and i can see my main hdd (c drive) but underneath it there is no listing of the ext hdd , in the left column its says disc 1 dynamic when i right click it there is no option to select drive letter or anything like that, it says convert to basic. the drive has stuff on it so formatting it is a last resort, is is currrently formatted as NTFS . is there a setting somewhere that isnt enabled ? where do i go to check if this is the case ?

let me know if you require anymore info. i am not a pro at this.

• Intel i7-2600 cpu 3.40Ghz
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Pro (64bits)
  • Asus GTX 560 1gb Graphics card
  • Asus P8Z68-M PRO motherboard
  • G.Skill DDR3 12800 CL9D-8GBXL
  • Aerocool VX-R LE Limited Ed Case
  • Widetech 650w psu
  • LG Blu-Ray 12x CH12LS28
  • Seagate 1Tbgb HDD

Maybe you need to check the BIOS for some eSATA specific entries…

thanks , i got it to work now , it only took me 6 hours .

So what was the problem?

How about sharing the knowledge so when someone else has a similar problem…

AD