Why DVD-R and DVD+R?

vbimport

Why do manufacturers still make both DVD-R and DVD+R ? I use both and find no discernible difference. Is it just a commercial ploy to give consumers a false sense of choices? Any proven technical superiority one can claim over the other?

Any expert opinion will be greatly appreciated!

I’m no media expert by a long shot but to me it seems +R has lower PIE and PIF levels
than -R does and on older stand alone players -R is more compatible than +R is but with
newer models of stand alone players it really doesn’t make a difference if it is -R or +R.
Now as to why there is still -R and +R discs I guess the format war was never settled
like it was between Blu-Ray and HD so both camps just keep producing both -R and +R
discs which I guess helps to keep the prices down which is a good thing for us. :iagree:

DVD+R is technically superior, both reading and writing, but there is still much old professional (and most importantly, expensive) hardware which only takes one type of DVDR, so closing production of either would probably just isolate a market segment.

These days, you shouldn’t have a problem using either, so long as you use media from a decent manufacturer, and by that I don’t mean the marketing brand that has their grotty corporate logo all over your rebadged discs.

[QUOTE=debro;2077680]DVD+R is technically superior, both reading and writing, but there is still much old professional (and most importantly, expensive) hardware which only takes one type of DVDR, so closing production of either would probably just isolate a market segment.[/QUOTE]

And DVD-R format is much popular than DVD+R in Asia, where is the most of media manufacturers located.

[QUOTE=pepst;2077684]And DVD-R format is much popular than DVD+R in Asia, where is the most of media manufacturers located.[/QUOTE]
And the bootlegging?

ive always found +R to be a bit more expensive then -R aswell