Why does my DVD read test drop off at 15?

vbimport

I’m fairly new to this:

I have a 1620 (B7T9 with speed hack) from Newegg, and when I run the Cd-DVD speed tests, it seems to read smoothly to 15, then jitters. This scan is for a dvd+r. Usually towards the end the speed bounces from 16x to 8x and back - with nothing else running.

Here are the scans I am getting.

I’m running a P4 3.2, with 1 gig of Ram

What does it mean? Does it mean my computer isn’t fast enough to burn at 16x?

Welcome ski_bum :wink:

Your drive cant make a clean 16x transfer rate test. What causing this I honestly don’t know straight away. What else is up and running when you do testing?, virusscanner, popup blocker, bittorrent downloading, there might be many things… Check this up.
Maybe you just have to give your drive more duty time with more burns and that hehaviour may go away, I shouldn’t worry about that.
If you like you can also try out my simple system transfer and burst test (my sig).

Your quality test scan looks very good though. Congratulation. :slight_smile:

@ski_bum
Try the quality test at 16x and see what it looks like. It may show up the errors your seeing in the transfer test…

Thanks for the replys!

I ran EndItAll and have nothing else running when reading and burning.

The drives read speed:
C:39,513kb/s
F:39,411kb/s

The Speed Measurement Max speed was: 13.9x with 19,206 KBS

I ran it twice with the same results. Once with Yuden T02, and once with TG01 (burned at 12x, actually looks pretty good - attached)

I ran it, and got a quality score of 94%. (I’ll try to run it again and actually save it this time.)
The pifs had a spike of 8 towards the end, with a total of around 300…

Any guesses?
System restore is turned off. EndITAll killed the running programs. DMA is running. I followed several guides and killed the unneeded services.msc

3,700 PIF’s from TYG01 doesn’t look very good.

The Speed Measurement Max speed was: 13.9x with 19,206 KBS