Why does CloneDVD take soooo long?

vbimport

Hi everyone, I am new here and found this site while trying to get some info on AnyDVD and CloneDVD. I have just installed the free trial versions of both and tried them out last night. I want to make backups of all my DVD movies and these programs were recommended to me. My questions is…why is it taking 12+ hours to do this??? I started last night at 10:00pm and it is 82% complete this morning at 8:00am. I have read other posts where people were frustrated with 1.5 hours. My computer is a Gateway Media Center edition that is 1.5 years old running XP. Is there a way to speed this up or is there a better “shrinking” program out there? I am new to this as well…didn’t know about shrinking until last night! Thanks so much for any help!! :slight_smile:

That combo works for me with average speed of ~40 mins/ XP 3.8Ghz 2 Gb Ram. I don’t inderstand the time difference.

Before you start copying, defrag your HDD, diasable your antivirus and firewall.

How many programs do you have in start up? They may be eating all your ram.

======================

Thanks for the help! So I only need to disable my antivirus software (McAfee is what I have installed) while I am making a copy? Also, when you say “how many programs do I have in start up”…are you referring to the START menu at the bottom left of the screen? There are 11 icons on the left half, which are also pasted to my desktop as shortcuts. I do have a lot of desktop shortcut icons…should I dump some of them? Thanks!! :disagree:

you can RUN, type MSCONFIG, the startup and diable all then restart. windows will load what it needs to run.

More information on the system and hardware involved would be required in order to recommend more definitive solution.

If the hardware is not optimized, the time required for transcoding may be extended.