Who makes my laptop's burner drive?

vbimport

Hello everyone. I just bought a second hand, like new laptop from a friend of mine after my computer bit the dust. I installed ImgBurn to see what my drive is, and it comes up as a " DVD A DS8A2L-A " produced by a seemingly unknown vendor called SlimType.

Does anyone have any idea who makes this burner? Apparently this burner is absolutely horrendous, can anyone vouch for it? It is installed in a HP G60 laptop, though I have read it was installed in a Lenovo and Compaq laptop.

See here for more info:

http://forum.rpc1.org/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=46519

LiteOn manufactures it. (LiteOn’s DH-20A4P identifies as “ATAPI DVD A DH20A4P”, and the iHAS lineup identifies as ATAPI iHAS624 A…they made the drive identification string as generic as possible around the time of the DH20A3P drives). They allegedly tend to make somewhat subpar slim drives (ever since 2005, I’ve heard complaints), though I’ve had no personal experience with one.

Albert, can you vouch for this drive being terrible? I know it seems to be a little less… Reliable than my BenQ burner from around 2006.

Most say all laptop slim drives are “terrible” for burning.
The recommendation is to use a good external with a laptop for burning.
Only use the laptop’s internal for reading if necessary & as little of that as possible.
A laptop drive is probably OK to start with but the heat quickly gets to them if used much.
If the internal has already been used a lot get a new internal & use it as little as possible.
As above get a good external drive.
I recommend getting a good external enclosure & installing the drive you want in it.
Do some research on the compatibility of the drive with a specific enclosure . As well as the enclosure with your laptop.

LiteOn lappy drives still beat the pants off Matshita though, especially for reading. Mind you, I think any drive might beat a Matshita :wink: