Which WRITER to use to get good audiocd burns?

Well, recently I bought an ASUS 52/24/52. But the specs don’t meet up with the results. Data cd’s are no problem, but writing decent audio cd’s is problematic: the drive writes audio jitter, which is especially noticeble in quiet passages and fade in / fade out’s of songs. Nero and Easy CD Creator doesn’t allow to write at lower speeds then 4 times, which is just to much to get a decent audiocd burn.

Which drives do you the users of this site recommend for writers that are used almost only to write audio cd’s?

From what I read it seems like most people prefer either Lite-On or Plextor. – I have no experience with Lite-On, but my PlexWriter 40/12/40A gives me perfect quality audio cd’s complete with CD text.

It seems strange that your brand new 52x writer gives you bad audio burns though…

• When you burn your audio cd’s, do you rip the songs yourself, or are they from mp3? Could it be that the ripping program or CD drive you use to rip the tracks is where the jitter comes from?

• What brand of blank cd do you use? Mabye using a higher quality media would help…

• Could it just be a problem with your audio cd player, and not the burned disc?

The writer can’t write audio jitter, but pit/land jitter, that, in theory can’t affect audio jitter in any way, exept, from some very hypothetical conjectures, affecting the servo, that would pump current from the power supply, that would badly react by lowering the voltage, that would affect the master clock. In practice, no one proved that any difference exists between a pressed CD and an error free copy on CDR (exept C1 error rate, that is much lower on copies). Just claims… no blind ABX test yet.

If you have got a problem at low level or fade in/out, the cause is certainly not pit/land jitter, but a distorded source.