Which would you choose ND2500A or ND2510A

Hi,

This is my first time posting in here, hello everyone! I’m in the market for some good DVD writer and came across the NEC ND2500a and the NEC DL ND 2510a.

I’ve heard alot of good firmware for the ND2500a that make it burn 4X media to 8X and also DL compatible. It is also a bit cheaper than the ND2510a.

Second is the ND2510a, which is made for DL and the only thing is that I’ve haven’t heard much about firmware for this drive.

My question to yah is, which drive do you think I should get? which have less problem, better firmware, etc. etc.

Also, there are newer DVD writer that are out right now with capability to burn at 12X(16X something like that). Would you recommend something else beside the 2500a & 2510a.

Thank you and any input on this will be greatly appreciated.

-OC_Newbee

The NEC 2500A and the 2510A are basically the same drives. The difference between these two is that the 2510A has been hand picked for DL burning. In order to burn DL discs the optical pick-up unit (OPU) of the drive has to be very precise. Not all NEC 25xx drives have such a precise (OPU) and thus the ones that don’t will be sold as 2500A drives. The ones that do will be sold as a 2510A drives. So, if you’re not interested in DL burning I’d say go for the 2500A. There isn’t much difference in firmware either because the hacked releases for the 2500A drive will turn the drive into a 2510A drive, so both drives can use the same firmware versions.

If you’re not a speed freak 8x burning should be more than fast enough. The Plextor PX-712A is one of the few 12x drives but other manufacturers are releasing or planning to release a 16x burner in the near future. The only problem is media…

Thank you for the reply. I’ve been hearing alot of good things about the 2500a, how the firmware(herrie) can make cheap 4x media to burn at 8x. My question is will there be any firmware that will do the same for the 2510a?