Which Taiyo Yuden CD-R Blanks to Get?

I am still fairly new to the practice of burning CD’s and having decided that I want to get Taiyo Yuden CD-R blanks, I am still fairly confused by the wide variety of types of blanks that they offer. For example, I went to Rima.com, which seems like a good place to purchase blank media in the USA and found that they have no less than 9 different types of Taiyo Yuden CD-R 100 packs available at present.

For example, some are labeled as 52x, some are “Silver Lacquer”, some are “Hub Printable”, some are “White Thermal”, some are “Silver Thermal”, “Silver Inkjet Printable”, “White Inkjet Printable” and so on.

I get the part about the blanks being “Inkjet Printable” or “Hub Printable” but how do I decide whether I want “Silver”, “White”, “Lacquer”, “Watershield” etc? The prices for the different types seem fairly similar so that alone is not much of a guide.

Thanks in advance for any input.

A lot of that depends on what kind of disc-printing equipment you have, if any. Us Europeans have a nice range of Canon Pixma printers with disc-printing trays, so for example, for me, Inkjet Printable, or Hub Printable is the way to go. Others will have some class of thermal printer, and so will tend towards thermal printable discs.

White vs. Silver (either Inkjet or Thermal) simply means what colour of background you want on the printing surface: white is better if you want to print picture-based material to the disc, silver if primarily text, or if for any reason printing to a silver background is preferable.

You can use inkjet printable discs with a regular disc marker or Sharpie, it works very well, and I did this before I got my Pixma.