Which PSU?

vbimport

Hi
I have recently got a new case for my PC, It has cathodes and a few gadgets, I have also recieved a DVD-RW drive. My question is can I simply upgrade froma 250w PSU to a 500W or will it blow my mother board?
Im running a
P4 1.1GHz PC
512MB RAM
Nvinda 3200 Graphincs card
Two floppy drives
Segate hard drive
Samsung 2nd hard drive
DVD drive
DVD RW drive

will it be OK to go for the 500w PSU? sorry if it seems a silly question. :confused:

Also, If I upgrade my motherboard, chip and RAM, can I just use the old hard drives with it, or does everything need to be re-installed?
Id like to go to about 2.00GHz.
Sorry if both seem silly, im new to this. :rolleyes:

This is in the wrong thread, should be under general hardware, but never mind, sure someone will move it.

Don’t worry you can easily upgrade to the 500W PSU it won’t blow nothing, it would be better anyway you seem to have a lot of devices in that pc of yours, so having the extra wattage means that you don’t start getting times when your pc suddenly fails on you.

As for your second question, yes you can upgrade all that stuff and just plug your hard drives back in and you won’t have to reinstall everything. Obviously you’ll have to uninstall drivers and install the new ones for onboard sound or whatever, etc but apart from that nope.

A 500W PSU seems like overkill with that setup though. Unless you plan on adding a load of stuff at a later date.

You will probably have to re-activate Windows, if you’re using XP, as it will see a significantly changed hardware configuration. You may even have to re-install, as I’ve seen cases where this is necessary due to changing board/CPU.

ah, my old friend windows xp, how could i forget about your activation process…