Which plextool test?

vbimport

I am new to media testing, and wanted to know using Plextools 2.19 with my PX 716, which test should i be running to check how good a written dvd media was burned? Thanks…also, on the recommended test, where should i look on how to evaluate those results?

sum8 for PIE errors, sum1 for PIF errors, Read Transfer Rate Test to see how well the disc is read (in that particular drive).

read the stickies in the Media section and the Plextor section.

Put a DVD±R disc that you’ve burned into the PX716 and choose the “Q-check PI/PO” test in Plextools. In Preferences, choose Good Accuracy or High Accuracy (High takes 28 minutes!), and then press Start.

When finished, right-click on the graph, choose Save … As HTML. Give it a filename, and make sure to choose Save As Type … Portable Network Graphics (png) because they’re a lot smaller than the default Windows BMP (and can be posted here which BMPs can’t).

Now you’ll have something to compare to the many, many posts in the Post your Plextor DVD Quality Scans Here thread which can be found here: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=115081

You should also take note of the DVD’s Manufacturer ID (as well as the name brand & speed you bought it under), which can be found in the CD/DVD Info section of Plextools. This is important because you cannot compare different media’s performances … and brand names like Memorex use many different Manufacturer IDs (“MID”) which are not apparent when you buy it.

Do try and use the search function in CDFreaks as much as possible, too.

Why most of Plex owners don’t use burst test?
It takes PIE and POE by one pass, and it may tell us much more about quality burn than PIE only.

PI error is defined as a row in an ECC block having 1 byte or more containing errors. It don’t shows how much errorneous bytes really occurs.
A row is 182 bytes long (172 data bytes & 10 bytes PI codes). One PI may be 1,2,3,…10,…100,…172 errorneous bytes. :iagree: