Which of these companies makes good quality dvd -r's?

BenQ, Digitank, ELK, Hatron, Infinite, LG, Master , Memorex, MemoryMedia, Precisa, Ritek, Royal Disk, Samsung, Silver Line, SKY, Smart, SpeeData, TDK, teac, Verbatim, Maxell, Ricoh, Taroko, Nashua

I’m new to all of this and unsure on what to buy. I have an LG 4163B. These are the the brands available online in my country. I’ve heard good things about Ritek and Verbatim, and lots of bad things about memorex, silverline are manufactured by infomedia r20 and are rated 4x even though they are labeled 8x. Only the 16x versions of verbatim are available.
What do you recommend. Oh and silverline are by far the cheapest.

Those are brand names, very few actually make media. You might read around a bit here to learn how to identify media.

Either the Verbatim or Maxell would be the best bets for buying blind on the net.

If you were buying in a retail store, I’d just tell you to get either Verbatim (which is most likely made in Taiwan), or anything else that says “made in Japan”. But since you are buying online, stick to Verbatim, it’s the most predictable brand… your 4163 will reliably burn +R or -R 16x Verbatim in well under 6 minutes.

Infomedia makes good +R discs but 4163 burns INFOME R20 at 4x.

If you are willing to wait about 8 minutes per disc, Ricoh, Maxell, TDK and Memorex are good choices at 8x. The problem with Memorex is not that it’s low quality, but that you can’t predict what media you will get under that brand because they use so many suppliers. But since you are buying online, the same applies to TDK and Maxell, though to a lesser extent.