Which Lite-On DVD burner to buy?

vbimport

I am new to DVD-burning and have been lurking on this forum for a couple days now. I am looking for a reliable drive that will allow me to backup my commercial dvds as well as data on my harddrive.

I been using a Lite-On CD Burner for almost 2 yrs now and am very happy with its performance, so I would like to buy a 8x DVD burner of the same brand.

However, I cant decide which one to buy.

1. LDW-811S
  2. LDW-851S
  3. SOHW-812S
  4. SOHW-832S

Can anyone make any recommendations?

. I would prefer to pay under $100-120 for the drive.
. My system specs: P4 2.53GHz + 512 ram + GF4 Ti4200 128mb video + 160gb (120 + 40) harddrives.

Lastly

What is the best media (brand) to use for backing up commercial dvds?
What software is best for making backup of commercial dvds? (CloneDVD2 or DVDFab).

Thanks

I would suggest the 812S, because there isn’t any DVD+R DL media available, and you can always upgrade to an 832S, and I’m not sure if you can find a 832s under 120$, well not where I live…

I would definitely take the 851S over the 811S any day, especially since the two usually cost about the same.

I would definitely take the 812S over the 851S any day, especially since the 812S cost only a few bucks more than the 851S, and that difference is a very small price to pay for what I think is a better drive.

If you want to be able to burn double-layer (DL) media (though you should read this before taking DL into consideration too much), then you should buy the 832S. Although it’s possible to convert a 812S to a 832S if you want DL, it’s best to support the company and help them recoup their DL R&D costs.

So… get either a 812S or a 832S.

Thanks for the response

I tried looking for the SOHW-832S (online store) but couldnt find any for sale. Also I read in a review that the 832S is approx. $159…which is a little outside my budget.

I found the SOHW-812S drive at newegg.com for $87.00 and I think I will order that today.