Which is the best hdd

vbimport

I’m looking to get a new hdd for storing high quality audio and audio programs (I’m an audio programmer)
I’m looking a at a 60/80gig Westerndigital, Seagate or Maxtor which is the best?
I’m leaning towards westerndigital is that the right thing to do?

THANKS

I’ve had nearly every brand of HD fail on me. There doesn’t seem to be one that is more dependable than the others. I just had a Seagate 160 fail after 6 months, and the replacement I bought was dead on arrival!

In very general terms, the 2 platter drives seem to have more reliability and noise issues.

If you want speed, the WD Raptors are the only non-SCSI drive that delivers true speed, and they are built to last a really long time. Even so, I had a Raptor fail on me due to bad sectors. But the mechanics of the Raptor are seriously heavy duty. Barring platter problems like mine, they will outlast their usefullness.

As far as performance on standard 7200RPM ATA100/133 drives, you won’t notice any difference between them. 8MB cache is a “must-have”.

with any HD, the secret to reliability is adequate cooling.

Yes, you need cooling that’s for sure.
Regarding performance among 7200 rpm drives I don’t really agree with you rdgrimes. You’ll notice quite a difference between a Seagate 7200.7 hdd and a Hitachi 7K250/Maxtor in favor for the Hitachi/Maxtor one.
Keep on mind that 8Mb cache often means extended warranty (usually 3 years) compared to 1 year for 2Mb cache.
//Danne

For real true amazing speed go for the 74Gb Raptors (but you will pay the price for the speed!). Otherwise just buy a WD >80Gb with 8Mb cache. You can’t go wrong with them.

Performance of PATA HDDs with similar RPM and cache size is pretty much equal among the major brands, as is reliability. I think one of the best ways to single out the best drive for you is to look at how long the manufacturer is willing to warranty it. Look for a 7200rpm drive with 8MB cache and a three-year warranty.