Which DVD Writer should I choose to buy?

Hi

I’m a newbie looking for buying a new DVD writer.

Few models that are available in my country are:

• Lite-On iHAS124 (don’t know which revision)

• LG GH24NSD0 (LG one, also a Hitachi branded one)
  • Asus 24D5MT (same as above?)

• Asus DRW-24F1MT
  • Asus DRW-24F1ST
    (not sure what kind of rebrands are those. there are samsung, lite-on and LGs?)

• Samsung SH-224DB

• Pioneer DVR-S21LBK, DVR-S21LWK, 221BK and 221LBK (confused about these but I guess they’re all QSI made)

I want a reliable&durable drive that won’t s**t the bed few years later.

It should be doing writes with good enough quality (even if not perfect). I don’t care about speed in slightest :upside_down_face:

I won’t burn audio/video discs just file writes. not doing dvd rips either.

Also the Lite-On is $4-6 cheaper than the rest so I wonder if there’s something especially wrong with it :upside_down_face:

Thanks

The only one i have personally used was the Liteon 124F. Most likely that is for sale where you found it. It did not seem like a reliable drive to me.
The LG and the Asus 24d5mt are the same drive, a good quality writer but also with reliability problems as i have heard.
The next two Asus drive are Samsung rebrands, although i do not recall which models exactly.
The Samsung Sh-224db seems like the best choice from your list.
Those 4 Pioneer drives are actually the same Qsi clone model. Nothing special about it.

DRW-24F1ST has a, b, c, d revisions. First revision was SH-224BB. Later revisions were rebadged Lite-on and LG’s, that’s why I wasn’t sure. I guess it’d be an LG unless it’s an extremely old stock.
Not sure about DRW-24F1MT though. First revision is SH-224FB but I couldn’t find anything about later revisions. I guess it’d be preferable compared to Sh-224bb and Sh-224db?

What kind of unrealibility did you experience with it?