Where do I put it

Hi guys:rolleyes:
As a virgin in this field I would like to know how to connect my new NEC 2500.
At the moment I have a dvd reader as master and a cd writer as slave. I dont know if it would be better to replace the dvd reader with my new writer or somehow link the three together. I hope to be able to copy dvd movies and legally download films from the net and burn these to watch on my home cinema.
Also I have Nero 5.5.9.9 is this going to be good enough???
Thanks in advance to anyone who takes time to help the retard:confused:
Cheers for now,
Gatamig

Hi and welcome to the forum.

The options open to you are,

Replace one of your existing drives with the new one.

Or if you are not running two harddrives then you could connect your new drive to that IDE channel as the slave drive.

Nero is basically good enough to copy files onto your CD or DVD. It isn’t good enough to backup films to DVD or to copy protected CD to other CD’s.

Luckly though we have an entire forum dedicated to these issues. So look around and hopefully you will find out what you need to know.

Hope this helps.

W

Nero is just fine for backing up dvds that are single sided (<4,7gb) as long as you use the appropriate program to rip the original movie to your hard disk drive.

What you will find though is that Nero probably will not recognise your new drive, as the 5.x series dont work with the latest Nec drive. You can get the latest 5.x Nero version from here just in case.

Your options if that occurs will be:

1. Upgrade to Nero 6
  2. Use a registry modification to make Nero 5.x recognise the drive
  3. Use other burning software

Thanks a lot Hemispasm
The download site from Nero worked and it now recognises my drive. Any idea why I only get 1.2 rip speeds with Smart Ripper with this drive when they quote a lot higher in the spec.:smiley: