Where can you buy 16x dvd dl media?

vbimport

Hello I have a 16x dual layer capable writer (Samsung SH-S223F). I have easily found 8x DL media and that has worked fine. However I would like to find 10x, 12x, or 16x media so I can burn even quicker since this drive is supposed to be capable of up to 16x dual layer +R.

These two links below seem to indicate that 16x dual layer media is available as of this year: (especially the picture)

http://www.cdrlabs.com/forums/introducing-ridata-dvd-16x-double-layer-optical-disc-t24032.html

http://www.ritekusa.com/product_buy.asp?division_id=1&products_id=54

Alas – I cannot seem to find the 16x dual layer media for sale on any vendor web site. I have also found links on the internet announcing ricoh’s 16x media, but again have not found any vendors selling this 16x dual layer media.

The closest I’ve seen is Verbatim’s 8x media which says it can go up to 10x, though I have not purchased it to verify.

I am a newbie here and am pretty bad at searching the forums, so please excuse me if this is an obvious question.

Thanks

Hi burntester,
unfortunately 16x DL media are not widely available on the market yet. :frowning:
You may try to write to Ritek USA, maybe they will send you some samples.

Perhaps a better question is – especially since this drive has overburning capabilities – is it possible to burn DVD DL disks greater than 8x? (has anyone done this using overburn with 8x media, or found media that works larger than 8x, etc.) Can I somehow force Nero or another application to burn greater than 8x for the DVD DL discs?

Thanks again

I’ve seen 12x burns on 8x DL media (MKM003) using Samsung drives, search a bit. Quality may not be top-notch but if its speed you’re aiming for it is possible.

Dunno about strat swapping (is there a 16x DL write strat for the recent generation of writers?) but I’m pretty sure the results won’t look real pretty if you’re overburning to twice the rated speed of the media.