When shopping for blank discs, how can you determine the media code?

vbimport

Hello, Lads,

I just joined this site today and this is my first post. To those of you in Europe (and elsewhere), greetings from across the pond. :cool: Looking forward to e-chatting with you all.

My question: Do any of you know if there’s an online vendor (preferably in the U.S.) that lists the media code for the blank media they sell? I’m new to disc burning, and I’d like to buy the exact media that performed well in CDFreaks’ tests of the Asus DRW-1612BL burner I just bought (mostly Maxell, Verbatim and TY). Lots of Websites list the brands they sell, of course, but I don’t see any mention of specific media codes. I’ve also looked at the boxes and/or packaging of various blank discs from Verbatim, Maxell and Fuji, at a couple retail stores, and there’s no mention of media codes on the packaging either.

I checked out RIMA.com, but they don’t show the media codes either. I can buy some discs that have the same packaging as those used in the review, but I just wonder if the mfgrs ever change dyes or other chemicals in their discs from time to time. If they do, that could potentially change the performance dramatically.

So how do the reviewers on this site know what the media codes of the discs they test are, and how can a person determine the codes when shopping for discs?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ken

When shopping online, most of us only purchase media from brands or manufacturers where we know for sure what kind of disks we’re getting. Unbranded Taiyo Yuden (TY) is always the same media code, so there’s nothing to think about there (except whether you want the Premium or Value line). The same with Verbatim-brand media (the media codes are always the same, although there’s an additional indicator of manufacturer that can only be determined in-store). Whatever the speed, we already know the code. It doesn’t change. Outside of those, it’s pretty much a crapshoot.