What's wrong with this picture?

I’ve burned about 80 dvd’s of a senior class video for my work and months later people are coming back saying they have problems playing the video. Well, until recently, I didn’t have an adequate drive for doing discs scans and now I do. It’s now very clear why they’re having problems playing them on their dvd players. The person that wanted the copies gave me the discs so I don’t know where they got them from. Supposedly, they’re Taiyo Yudens. Is there any way to tell if these are fakes or not. If they’re not fakes then why would they be so bad? I’ve never had burns this bad! I’ve never used Taiyo Yuden before, but from what I heard they’re supposed to be very good. I generally get Verbatims at Sam’s Club. A 50 pack of verbatim 8x (of both formats) are $17. Well here’s the results:

Yikes. I certainly hope those aren’t really Taiyo Yuden discs. The proof is in the stamper code. If they don’t have a serial number starting with “GH” on the dye side of the discs, they aren’t TY discs. If they do though, you either got a particularly horrible batch of TYG03 or your LG is in bad shape…

Yes, check for the code, as Two Degrees suggested. The only sure conclusion is that those DVDs are total crap. If the hub has no code on it, it’s definitely fake.

As per your suggestions, I checked the disc and there is a stamp on it which is GH00076. So unless there’s another way to check who knows what really happened. I guess someone fell asleep at the factory and something went wrong with this batch? Anyhow, LG drives are really awsome drives to have, as well as, LITE-ON. I think that they make a great team together.