What's wrong with my Asus 1608p?

What can I say… my Asus has very very poor burn quality. I don’t know what to do… should I change the firmware? I currently have 1.57 installed. I don’t know what to do… please help!

Here are some dvd-s burned at 4x or 2x speeds. I used Verbatim, Princo, TDK, and Benq if I am not mistaking. :((

Princo :Z

The others hsould give better results, but it also depends on other things than only burner/firmware/media like a good PSU and good cables.

Yes, I know Princo are realy bad… I wouldn’t even call them dvd-s. But, the Verbatim one (MCC004) is among the best ones. And if you look at the first picture, you realise it would have a 95+ score or so, if it weren’t for those strange peaks in pi failures. I really don’t know where those come from, but they are on almost all my dvd-s. They just come out of the blue :frowning:

If I were to change the firmware, what would you reccomend? For the best burn quality. And a link please, I’m really new to DVD-RW firmware. And thanks for answering. :rolleyes:

LE: And is it normal to have that many pi errors? I don’t think I have any dvd to have the maximum at less than 1000. I read some other posts here, and saw that most have under 100?

LLE: I don’t know if it is of any importance, but some of my dvd’s have visible bands on the recordable side. As if some parts are written with the laser at a different power than the others. Please forgive my english, I hope you understand what I want to say :slight_smile:

I have the same problem with my asus 1608P2
I have crossflashed with the lastest pioneer firmware 1.39 with the hope that the burning quality will make a big step forward … but no
The warrantly is down due to the crossflah … so I will burn a plextor, I am really disapointed of the quality of the drive because I used only high quality disc as verbattim, yuden etc …
I have never had problem with my pioneer 107D with this pioneer 110 seems to be quite “average”