What type of DVDs do I need for my burner?

vbimport

I know this sounds like a dumb question, but I’m very new to this stuff, so bear with me, please.

My laptop came with a DVD burner, which I’ve never used before since I don’t really know how. Now, I’d like to use it to make copies of my DVDs, but I’m not sure what type of DVD is compatible with my burner. I found some blank Sony+R DVDs laying around, but have a feeling they aren’t compatible. All this +/-, R/RW, ROM/RAM stuff is Greek to me, so I was wondering if I paste specs from my user manual about my burner, could someone please tell me what type of blank DVD I need to buy for burning? Also, I would appreciate any brand recs or other useful info. Thank y’all so much!!!

Here is my burner info:

MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ-820S

DVD-SuperMulti Drive: Enhanced IDE (ATAPI) Interface;
Maximum speed: CD-ROM (24x read), CD-R(24x read/16x
write), CD-RW(12x read/4x write), DVD-ROM(8x read), DVD-R
(4x read/4x write), DVD-RW (4x read/2x write), DVD+R (4x
read/2.4x write), DVD+RW (4x read/2.4x write), DVD-RAM (2x
read/2x write); Service removable

check here under dvd burners for compatibility www.videohelp.com

from the specs you listed about the dvd burner i would be using dvd-r for faster read and write times. buy a good brand like verbatim or tdk dvd-r. if you want to erase and redo a burn then go for some dvd-rw also. but you might as well use up those sony dvds you have first

I personally have beter luck with +R discs these are what I use: http://meritline.com/ritek-8x-dvd-p...edia-discs.html they are 8X but they will work great in your burner they will only burn at the speed the burner will let them.

I f you wan to use -R you can get these they are what I used when I was using -R:http://www.meritline.com/ritek-ridata-branded-8x-dvdr-dvd-r-media-blank-discs.html

A little something I firmly believe in is next I have backedup over 200 movies without a problem that wasn’t my fault using this formula.