What type of DVD media to use?

Hi, ok first of me a total noob so any suggestions are welcome :bow:

I bought a dvd rewriter. What kind of media should I use? I went to the store and they had several brands in
dvd+r
dvd-r
dvd-rw
dvdram

what does all the - + mean? I know the rw mean rewriter. :stuck_out_tongue:

I tried asking around the store but those guys didnt help me much.

I was so confused that I didnt buy anything :confused:

I really want to start burning dvd’s.
What kind of media should I use? :bow:

Hello and welcome to the forums,

I bought a dvd rewriter. What kind of media should I use?

usually we suggest to use high quality media, such as (real) Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim. They are a bit more expensive but most of the burner can handle without any problems and give you good quality burns. For other media types I would suggest to check out the cdfreaks review for your DVD rewriter. Our reviewers tested many different types of media with various burner.

what does all the - + mean? I know the rw mean rewriter.

This thread should provide you with the necessary information.

H3rB3i thank you for the reply.
My dvd rewriter is benq DVD DD DW1640. So the review says is pretty good :wink:

There is so much to read! I read a bit but unable to determine what to buy+R or -R. What would you recomend? I only backup my data, PC games and maybe some movies too. I want it to play on everything including my notebook.

for the time being bought 5 unbrabded dvd+r discs. Now the label says 4.7gb but when I start burning it allows only 4.4-4.5gb? Is this because of low quality?

I saw a spindle pack of Verbatim, I will pick that up latter today :slight_smile:
thanks

with this drive, you can use a wide range of media without problems and you are also able to scan the final burns for their quality.

Have you checked the realted threads in our Philips/Benq Forum ?, here an example http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=138205