What speed should you burn BD-R at?

vbimport

I am new to BD-R burning. I always burn DVDs at the lowest speed.

I’ve burned a few BD-R and they seem to be ok. I set IMGBURN to 1x (slowest available). It burns the BD-R at 2X since that is the lowest supported by the media. Is it better to burn at the lowest speed possible or the highest rated speed?

The BD-R media I have is RiData 4X BDR-254-RDCB15.

Also, I messed up one of these BD-Rs. I set IMGBURN to burn the disc, and I opened a program at the same time, and IMGBURN hung at 0%. I tried again, and IMGBURN said the disc was not empty and would not burn to it even though it still had 23.5 or so GB of free space. Is there any way to burn this disc or is it a coaster?

[QUOTE=9020V;2487210]I am new to BD-R burning. I always burn DVDs at the lowest speed.

I’ve burned a few BD-R and they seem to be ok. I set IMGBURN to 1x (slowest available). It burns the BD-R at 2X since that is the lowest supported by the media. Is it better to burn at the lowest speed possible or the highest rated speed?

The BD-R media I have is RiData 4X BDR-254-RDCB15.

Also, I messed up one of these BD-Rs. I set IMGBURN to burn the disc, and I opened a program at the same time, and IMGBURN hung at 0%. I tried again, and IMGBURN said the disc was not empty and would not burn to it even though it still had 23.5 or so GB of free space. Is there any way to burn this disc or is it a coaster?[/QUOTE]