What programs I need to download to start burning DVD's?

Hello everyone, I am a newbie when it comes to dvd burning. I just got my laptop last night and it came with a CD and DVD burner. I figured out how to burn CD’s and now I need to learn how to burn DVD’s. The movies I have downloaded are in .AVI format. I bought some blank DVD-R disks at Walmart tonight. Can you tell me what programs I need to download to start burning DVD’s? Are there any free DVD burning programs out there? Thanks for the help! Smile

Welcome to CDFreaks, a good start to all your questions would be to read for a bit. Searching for these topics would bring an answer most of the time, but I can tell you what I use. ConvertX to DVD is a great program. You can download a trial from here: http://www.vso-software.fr/products.php It makes easy work of different video files, and authors a dvd and then burns it. There are other programs that work similar, and also some more complicated. This is an easy one to start with. Good luck.

YOu have much to lear grasshopper… Before you can burn dvd, you must learn your hardware…
Programs to get past dvd copy guard (movies).
Anydvd, it cost, but it is worth it and the best.
dvd decryptor, it is like ant, macrovision is like grain of rice. grain of rice bigger than ant so macrovision shut down dvd decryptor (try to find the final version, still a very powerfull tool). Ant is wheat farmers friend, kill aphid??? so grain of rice gets sqashed under boot of wheat farmer (riaa/mpaa attacks the public, who indirectlly pays thier salary, eventually, the public doesn’t pay thier salary anymore, hopefully).
vob blanker, dvd fab decryptor, other free tools worth checking out for copy guard.