What MPEG cards are available?

vbimport

Hey guys, newbie here :cool:

I’m looking for a card other than but just like the Xcard or Hollywood Magic card that will give me hardware based composite video, S video, and digital audio outputs.

Any ideas? Can some one please tell me what cards are available that can do this?

My problem with the Sigma Designs cards: I’ve got a version of XP Pro from the University that will not allow my system to boot with the X Card or the Hollywood Magic card installed. This version of XP Pro is prior to SP1, I’ve also installed SP1. As soon as I load the correct XP drivers for either Sigma card, the system will lock up during the boot screen, keyboard lights go out and all. It will boot into safe mode. I’ve tried a fresh clean install of this XP Pro and that made no difference. However I have also tried a clean install of the XP Pro SP1 OEM that came with my other computer on this system and that had no problem at all with either Sigma card, only thing is that I need that XP copy for my other computer which also has an X card. Would rather buy a new mpeg card than another copy of XP Pro, there are absolutely no other problems/issues with this OS or my hardware.

System:
XP Pro
Soyo Dragon (latest bios installed)
2GHz Celeron
512MB DDR
200GB WD
Asus FX5200
SB Live 5.1 MP3+
Pioneer DVR-A07XLA

Thanks!

Have you considered a variant of the ATI All-In-Wonder line? They’ll generally have just about anything you want.

Other options include Hauppauge’s WinTV PVR line (http://www.hauppauge.com), if you want it separate from your vid card. The high-end PVR’s have hardware MPEG-2 decode and encode.

@ ThreeFatTigers
I highly doubt that there’s a crippled version of XP made by your university and my guess is that it’s a hardware/software issue.
Tried moving it around and use the latest drivers?
http://www.sigmadesigns.com/support/download_xcard_win2000_xp.htm