What Media To Buy?

helo all am new to this forum and also very new to burning and media.my question is what media should i buy ? also should it be - or + and where?i heard about blankmedia.ca but also heard negative things about buying there i live in Canada like a 10mins drive from blankmedia :slight_smile: my burner is an LG 4163 am looking 4 media that i can print on 2 any answerd will b great plx bare wiht me as i am a noob whne it comes to this thing thx for nay replys :slight_smile: :iagree:

Take a look at the media guide:

If you are playing your DVD on a stand-alone player, your manual should tell you what format to use. However, do a little reading on Booktyping/Bitsetting and you may want to do this to your +R discs as it will increase your chances of playing it on more players, especially older players.

Most users agree that Verbatims are excellent, are available locally and are often on sale.

Welcome to CDF

No offense but that site has a number of inaccuracies, I would not suggest using that site to judge media. I do agree on the suggestion of Verbatim though, particularly their +R media is about as good as any media in general and is widely available at good prices.

Help us out but what are the inaccuracies?

I do not want to detract from the subject of this thread but there are MANY ‘classifications’ of media that are laughable (Ritek G05 ‘class 2’, CMC AE1, AM3 ‘class 4’, Optodisc OR8 ‘class 4’, TTH02 ‘class 1’, CMC E01 ‘class 3’, Sony 08D1, 16D1 ‘class 1’ ). If you want to discuss it any further, it should be in another thread or via PM.

I think Verbatim media would be a good start (as a brand). Then as you experiment with your burner, its settings and your time, you might want to search for 8X MIJ (Made in Japan) media from Sony, Fuji or Panasonic (which usually would be media manufactured by Taiyo Yuden and it’s considered as one of the most reliable media currently on the market).