What is your choice for a DVD Player software?

Notice I didn’t say “what’s the best…”.

I’m currently using WinDVD V7. I realize it is one of the more popular, if not the most popular DVD players out there, BUT I has just come to my attention
everytime you start the program, it creates three cookies buried in that damn ‘Documents & Settings’ folder!

I don’t know if they are sent anywhere, but the fact is I find that unacceptable. That brings me here to ask;
What DVD player software do you use and why and have you treid anything else?

BTW, this is SD DVD, NOT HD/BluRay.

My personal favorite is PowerDVD version 4 (ancient and very friendly). Many folks really like the various incarnations of Media Player Classic.

I have used that in the past. Is it still current?

I’ve been using ASUSXP DVD player for a few years now it came with an old
Asus TI4200 video card I bought a long time ago. I haven’t had the need to
use anything else so far so guess I’ll keep using it until I’m forced to move on
to another player software somewhere in the future. :wink:

VLC player is one of the best players available currently.

It’s free, and it can run also as a portable software (i.e. non installation, but running simply from any folder you like, also an USB pendrive)

I too use an old (v4 or 5, never looked) PowerDVD as well as VLC.

I use CyberLink Dvd Suite! Has eagle sharpness and color that is awasome for my 1900x1200 Plasma screen on my laptop!!

I use PowerDVD. Mine is the latest version and it does fine for me.

I have a friend who uses the Nvidia PureVideo decoder and it does a good job too. There are three versions, but I don’t remember which one he has.

I’ve tried VLC, older versions of WinDVD and Media Player Classic, and they work. The only one I can remember off the top of my head that I had problems with was Nero Showtime. I wouldn’t recommend it at all.

I like WinDVD