What is considered acceptable media?

I have been creating backups for a couple years now, and have gone through several different manufacturers of discs. I’ve just recently begun checking disc quality on both my new discs, and out of curiousity the old to determine the manufacturer and the current condition.

I use Nero CD-DVD speed. My question is what kind of results is considered “acceptable” for a backup that will only need to be used in a standalone DVD player, or perhaps in my PC to create another copy (assuming the old backup is on the fritz).

The various media I’ve been using turns out to be the following:

Ritek G04 (Newegg branded discs)
Ritek G03 (started using these very recently, Arita Branded)
ProdiscF01 8x -R (Fuji Branded)
Verbatim DVD-R DL (forgot media Code)
Verbatim 8x and 16x (forgot media code)
Ritek F1 (Dynex Branded 16X -R)
CMC MAG F01 000 (Philips 4x +R)
TTG02 (TDK 8X -R burned at 12x)
MXL RG03 (Maxell -R 8x)

Oddly enough the best results I’ve gotten were from the older Ritek G04’s (couple years old), and even the G03 (which are much newer) are producing quality scores in the 90’s. The rest seem to be hit-or-miss, with most falling in the 60+ range, couple as low as 40, and even one that was 0, but still readable and I was able to create another backup.

I tested a couple of each type of disc, but I’d like to know what is acceptable so I’m not having to test every single one. The TTG02 results seem fairly dismal with most scores being 70’s or less, and one being 0. Ritek F1 scores are 40 and up, CMC Mag scores 70+, Prodiscs are newer and score in the 80-90’s. The Riteks, verbatims and Maxells seem outstanding all scoring in the 90’s.

My tests on the dual-later Verbatims come out okay, 50 or higher, most have good sized spikes at the layer change which lowers the score considerably.