What is BITSETTING? and what are the PROS and CONS?

vbimport

…answering this would shed some light on the although of threads I see regarding this feature — knowledge is power, thanks!

Another newbie here, no offence SlickVision, but I have seen this bitsetting mentioned in so many threads and I don’t know what it means either, so it would be nice to know.

All DVDs (burnt and pressed) have a ‘booktype’. Standalone DVD players and PC DVD drives can read this booktype and thereby detect what type of disc is loaded. DVD-ROM and DVD-VIDEO discs are cannot have their booktype modified (obviously) and DVD-R discs also cannot be changed because the area of the disc where the booktype is written already has information put there during manufacturing. On the other hand, DVD+R discs can be written to in this area of the disc, and so, bitsetting is the process of writing a DVD-ROM booktype to this area instead of a DVD+R booktype. Some older standalones which refuse to play anything but the ‘official’ DVD standards can thereby be fooled into playing DVD+R.

I know searching returns a bunch of results that have nothing to do with defining the process, but more detailed information is out there if you dig a little deeper.

btspm hit the nail right on the head. i’ll just add that the booktype can be changed for dvd+rw discs as well, and that i see no cons to doing this. if you have a bitsetting-capable burner, you should always change the booktype for dvd+r discs to dvd-rom for maximum compatibility. changing the booktype for dvd+rw discs to dvd-rom can sometimes make it so that OTHER dvd burners can’t erase/rewrite onto the disc; the drive that burned it can still use it properly though.

Ummmm… interesting…
So when using a DVD+R can you specify when writting to a disk what the booktype is?