What do i need to do? Just got am AMD X2 4600

I have a single core 3500 at the moment, I am expecting a dual core 4400 x2 retail. What do i need to do to my computer before i install the upgrade when it arrives on monday>>>>??? :confused:

Probably update BIOS and drivers from AMD.com
//Danne

sorry dizzy im a noob again here lol, when do i update drivers? After installing the new cpu? Could you give me a link please? Am looking here;http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

Have download the dual core optimiser and the ‘AMD Athlonâ„¢ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Driver for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Version (x86 and x64 exe) 1.3.2.16 -’.

go here, www.amd.com click on downloads/drivers then click on amd x2 drivers then click on amd 64xs processor driver for your os, being windows xp most likely then after your processor is installed, install the driver, if you already have a amd driver installed for your single core processor you need to go to add/remove programs and get rid of it first. The new driver is to enable the operating system to use cool and quiet technology as well as tell it how to use the two cores, i.e. in task manager under performance you will see two processor windows instead of a single one.

Keep in mind the processor will only show 50 percent usage typically when you have a single application running that is processor intensive, unless of course it is multithreaded. Programs that are multi threaded include nero, roxio among others.

Just remember only one core will be used for a process, if you see both cores going and only one application running its multi threaded, if you have multiple programs running one program will use one core, For example if you are running a virus scan and also running defrag, one will use core 1 other will use core 2.