What CPU to use in New Box

vbimport

I am a first time computer builder, and I want to build a computer that is geared toward burning DVDs the best possible configuration. I know the main thing you must have are:
CPU - I want the best possible over 3 mhz. Intel or AMD. ( Please suggest)
HD - I am going to use the WD Raptor X 150Gig 10,000RPM http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=189
I have picked a case that holds 4 optical drives so I need a big PSU, any suggestions?
I am not a gamer so I want a good video card but not the best. Also suggestions appreciated.
This is where I am really stumped. I want the best I/O controller cards money can buy, I have heard to use the cards with the Sil 680 chip, is this true or is there better?
Any other suggestions would really be appreciated.
Thanks

I forgot to add that the configuration must be able to accomaodate 4 DVD RW drives.

Hi alan. Maybe have a look at Zevia’s thread herefor some ideas. If you have a look at Dee-27’s case in that thread it looks like a great start and you would not be restricted with 4 optical drives, I know with my current set up 4 Optical drive slots is not enough and I am constantly changing drives. I know you have quite s few drives. :wink: AMD is also the way to go now adays as Intel has decided to use only one P ATA channel for the current chipsets. Hope this helps to get you started.:slight_smile: