What are proffessional defragmenters for? Is Windows' defragmenter really that crap?

I can’t really see how something can really be ‘bad’ at defragmenting. What do these other ones do that Windows can’t? :confused:

I’m not an expert into it, but I know that one of the main functions that windows defragger don’t do is defrag paging file. In fact, to defrag this file is necessary to shutdown computer: it is not possible to defrag a file in use by windows itself, so a defragger needs to start before than windows, defrag all files, and then let windows start normally.

How about the fact that most people nowdays like me have huge hard drives (100GB+) and it takes sooo long to defrag with Windows defrag whereas the one I use (diskeeper) does it in a few minutes!

Hi :slight_smile:
Oh dear! What am I doing wrong? When I use DiscKeeper which I got free with some other s/w I purchased, it takes on average 4>5 times longer than when I use Windows own.
HD’s are 4 Maxtors 200gb raided into 2 pairs 0 Raid. Typical time to defrag with Windows <2min.
With DiscKeeper typical time is >7.30 min.

Hi :slight_smile:
As I understand it, when installing fresh it’s important to defrag every step of the way. By doing this in theory means that system files & paging is at beginning of drive. In a sense “partitioned” therefore no need for this area to be defragged. However in practice many things can affect this, in particular system locking up forcing restart without proper shutdown. This causes files in the paging system to be “scattered” & in the interests of performance/reliabilty defragging of this area is required. Windows will often sort this out when booting before loading Windows. Hence the appearance of those 00001 type files that are of little or no use.

Lots of things distinguish “professional” defraggers.