What am i doing worng?

vbimport

Im new to backing up my dvd collection. But it is taking me forever. My burner is a pioneer DVR-A09XL with the 1.50 firmware. I have the 80 wire cable and using UDMA 4 mode. This drive is on the second ide controller set as slave, master is my tosshiba SD-m1612. so here are some of my concerns…

using DVD Decrypter it takes usally 20 minutes to decrypt a dvd. Then using DVD shrink and start the burn process takes even longer. To encode it takes another 25 minutes. The the burn takes another 30 minutes. Are their some settings that im missing? My system is a P4 2.0ghz 1.0GB Ram 120GB hard dirve. My uncle is using DVDXCOPY and burns a back up in about 15-20 minutes, with a similer system.

What am i doing wrong? :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Edit…Buring media is Memorex DVD+R 16x

enable DMA…

see here: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616

Thankyou for responding, I checked and DMA is enabled. Im still stumped!

Thats pretty crappy time. I’m not farmiliar with your burner but you may want to see if thier is modified firmware that can remove whatever rip lock it has. That might speed up decryptor. The alternative would be to get a high speed rom like the aopen 1648 (I think you need modded firmware for full speed out of it too). Another choice if you want another burner to play with is get a benq 1620 and use modded firmware. It can rip as fast as the fast dvd-roms.
Encoding time is pretty much determined by the speed of your computer, the program being used, and the amount of compression/nature of the movie.
Your burn time is horrible (are you using 2x disks)? If you are not then your firmware obviously doesn’t support the disks you are using. Thier should defanatly be a way to fix the burn time (unless you are using 2x media).
Download cdspeed
http://www.cdspeed2000.com/
And do a burst rate test. it should be above around 20mb/s. thats just to rule out hardware settings problems.