What about a SHM-160P6S

I see a review for a 165P6S. Does anyone know the difference? I see this for sale on Tiger.

This will be my first DVD burner. And I probably won’t do a lot of video burning. Mostly audio CD’s and DVD data backup. That is the main reason I am purchasing a DVD burner…for data. I have tons of multi-track audio from recording my little band projects and want to back them up. 1 song=1 gig. So it eats up my hard drive fast.

I just was wondering if anybody knew any + or - for this drive. Thanks for any feedback!!!

(Yeah I’m a newbie here! Nice forum!)

I think it lacks Lighscribe but has DVD-RAM. Should be a great drive.

I have the 165H6S and so far enjoy it a lot. It is a very good value.

I would not hesitate to purchase one if you can find a good deal. Newegg has 'em too, and sometimes has free shipping.

Enjoy!

Remember I am a newbie, but what is DVD-RAM?

Yeah Tiger had it for $25 after mail-in.

Or NewEgg had a SHW-160P6S-04 for $29 free ship. Need not rebate

DVD-RAM is a format that is rewriteable up to 100,000 times. Standard DVD-RW and DVD+RW are rewriteable up to 1,000 times.

DVD-RAM can use a standard FAT32 type file system, so you can drag and drop files to it like a hard drive if you choose.

I personally don’t use the DVD-RAM feature yet. I just focus on the standard DVD and CD formats and it works great for me. It’s just an extra feature really, at least for me.

Thanks for the info!!

Hi,

SHM-160P6S might be a typo. There is a SH[B]M[/B]-16[B]5[/B]P6S, that is indeed capable to handle DVD-RAM, and there is a SH[B]W[/B]-16[B]0[/B]P6S, that does not support DVD-RAM.
I prefer DVD-RAM for regular backups of personal data like documents etc.

Using FAT32 on DVD-RAM is the worst you can do. Bad performance and discs going bad earlier than necessary.
These are the reasons, why UDF filesystems should be used.

Michael