Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA-2 OEM $75 Shipped

vbimport

Here.

Perhaps not as good a buy per/GB as some of the recent larger Seagate drives being offered, but this particular model has the highest reliability rating I have seen – normally about a 91% excellent-to-good user rating.

Personally, 250 gigs is about as large as I like to go per drive due to the risk of data loss in a failure. Two 250GB drives usually cost less than one 500GB drive, and if the 500GB drive dies you may lose EVERYTHING. In a non-RAID setup, you cut you odds of total data loss by 50% by using two 250GB drives instead of one 500GB unit…

This WD drive normally goes for around $80 plus $5 shipping. The deal will likely expire 11:59PM TODAY California time (Pacific Standard Time). I have two of these I’ve been using in a video editing platform for the past four months without any trouble.

nice find on this one…thanks

Glad to help. :slight_smile:

Looks like this sale has continued past the normal expiration of Newegg Weekend Sales. This is the lowest non-rebate price I’ve seen on this drive at the Egg. In fact, it is about what my final price was for the two I bought last August after the rebate checks finally arrived. ($85 w/Free Shipping and $10 MIR)

Was going to try a similarly-sized and priced Seagate unit until this sale came along, so bought another one. Think I’ll wait until the next series of Perpendicular Recording Seagates before biting… By the way – this WD drive is RoHS-complient even though the Newegg specs don’t reveal this… just in case you live in a community which requires RoHS compliance.

Nice buy.

same price I got a year ago, $75 shipped, bought 2 a year ago, still stable on raid 0