Watching a DVD from your HDD

This is what i want to do.

Using a 100mbit LAN connection to a Pc with a large HDD, i want to copy all my DVD’s (NOT ripped to Divx or VCD) to the HDD and then from my desktop PC i want to watch the movie.

is this posible ?
Is the Bandwidth of the LAN (100mbit) enough to watch the movie with no jitters, my pc is a p4 2g.

Next question, is how do i rip the movie to the HDD (keeping it as a DVD format, not divx or whatever) and then play it…what software do i use ?

thanks

Interesting I have never tried that before but I think that I will have to give it a try. At 100Mb I would think that you should be able to watch the movie alright. As far as getting the files to the hard drive just use smartripper to copy the vob files over the hard drive. Total space used could be any where from 4 gigs to 7 gigs most of the time.

I think its possible to do that, but im not exactly sure how. As for ripping the DVD just go here, and itll show you exactly how its done.

Use Smartripper to rip the DVD to your HD, make sure to get the .ifo file, and use your software player in “file” mode to do the watching by pointing the player to the .ifo file. This will let the player know to use the VOB files in the proper sequence.

www.doom9.net has a number of good guides for this and other DVD DivX VCD issues.

a couple of questions…

1. Lotus24, how do i use my software in “File Mode”.
    I have cyberlink 3.0 (i tihnk thats its name)… what software is best for file mode ?

2. i did some calculations and YES 100mbit bandwidth is plenty of room for the movies. 1 movie = 4.7mbit…then if you add on another 40% for protocol headers etc etc, you still have a lot to go. (thats not a question, i just realised :slight_smile: )

3. what are the different types of files inside a DVD, IFO VOB ?
    and the 2 folders Audio and Video, my Audio folder is empty when i browse using windows explorer. what do they all do ?