Warcraft III - Game Protection NOT detected

vbimport

I’m a noob here and trying to backup my Warcraft 3 and Warcraft 3 Frozen Throne, so I can play it on my laptop that does not have a cd-rom drive (one of them ultraportables) with Daemon Tools.

Anyhow, after reading the “Offline Help Guide” and searching this forum/google etc, I tried various copy protection identifying tools. All, but one reported no copy protection on my Warcraft 3 disc. The following failed:

• A-ray Scan 2.0.1.2
  • Copy Protection ID 5.0c
  • YAPS

The only one that discoverd it is the dated ClonyXXL (unfortunatly in German) as Securom NEW. All game lists reports either SecuROM 2.6x or 2.8x.

I remember the last time I did this I used Alcohol and picked the Securom NEW profile, but vaguely remember that I had to do something in adddition. Something about measuring the laser read time of the disc… not sure what it was. I dunno if any1 knows what I am talking about and care to explain.

Also do I need to do anything else to get this image working on Daemon Tools after using Alcohol?

Also what are the mds/mdf files? You can make this with both Alcohol and CloneCD. Are these format standardized like ISO files?

Thanks guys, I hope to be a productive member in the near future.

-siu lung

edit: Sure enought the image does not work. Mounting it with Daemon Tools and running it gives me a FATAL ERROR???