Volume raised WAVE file smaller than original lower volume?

Hey guys.

I don’t have much knowledge in this area but I wanted to raise the volume of a 3hour live show I have.

I merged all the flac files and made a WAVE file which is 1836171 KB.

I then raised the volume of that file in “Audacity” by 9.8db so the highest peak of the recording was at -1db (no clipping).

Then exported the raised volume file as a new WAVE file (raised volume) and it is 1836168 KB.

I’m not very technical with audio so here’s where I am confused.
Shouldn’t the file with the “raised volume” be a bigger file than the file with “lower volume” ?, as nothing has been changed except the volume has been raised, so why is the file with raised volume 3KB smaller than the original WAVE file with lower volume ?

Is this technically correct ?

I don’t understand it as the research I have done on the function I used in Audacity says that it does not do anything but raise the volume without causing clipping / damage etc.

When you have 2 WAVE files which are supposedly exactly the same except one is louder volume shouldn’t the louder volume file contain more info, therefore be bigger ?, not smaller ?

Any help / explantion appreciated.

Thanks

There’s other things that contribute to the filesize other than just the content; like error-checking bytes and file headers. However it’s a good question and so I’ll move it to the Audio forum here… :wink:

Done.

Thanks, sorry for posting in the wrong section…

OK, I think I might have the answer to my own question, but I’d like to hear from anyone who has more knowledge about audio than I do (probably most of you !).

As I explained I created a single WAVE file by merging 30+ FLAC files with GoldWave (the single WAVE file is 1836171 KB).

I then used “amplify” in Audacity to raise the volume 9.8db and exported it as a new WAVE file (the new “higer volume” WAVE file is 1836168 KB which is 3KB smaller than the lower volume WAVE file).