Vista Syncing

I have recently bought a new computer with Vista and wanted to transfer all my old files to it. I accessed my old computer on the network and tried to drag all the hard drives I had shared on my old computer onto my new partitioned 500gig hard drive to store my old data so I could format my old PC and sell it. This came up with lots of nasty errors from running out of memory (not sure why).

So because of this I tried the view these files offline option and synced them to my new pc. Where do these files save? Does it intellegently find a good drive to put it? (good)! Or save on the drive Vista is saved? (bad)! Because Vista is saved on a fast but not that big raptor drive (74 gig).
If it is saved to the Vista drive, how do I change it?

Hope this question makes sense!!

Thanks!