Vidomi stops encoding the DivX at 98% - Help!

Ok I’m new to this and I’ve tried this process 4 times now and still no luck. Let me explain…

Firstly I wanted to make a backup of my Mission Impossible 2 Movie to DivX and put it on cd. I read through the Faq (on this site) on how to do this and completed every detail.

I ripped the movie using SmartRipper, everything ok so far.

I then input all the settings into Vidomi as explained in the Faq (VOB -> DivX). I want it to make a DivX to fit on one 700mb cd. (I’m using DivX Pro 5.03).

I click process and then go to sleep. Then I find in the morning that Vidomi stopped pretty soon after because Windows 2000 ran out of Virtual Memory. Darn. So I fix that up for the next night and increase Windows Virtual Memory to the max of 4095mb. I start encoding to divX again and I get the message Windows is increasing my virtual memory. Ok sweet and I go back to bed.

Then I get up the morning and find that Vidomi has stopped at 98% on the final pass and there is a box on the screen saying windows had run out of Memory/RAM. What the…! I take this in stride and blame it on windows poor memory management. There is a 160mb Avi file residue on the hard drive, that can’t be played.

Next night, I set up FreeMem Pro and tell it to make memory freeups regularly, and have it force free-ups as well just in case. I also disable Nortons antivirus and other stuff that doesn’t need to be running. I set up Vidomi again, click start, and go to sleep again :). I wake up in the morning and find that the same memory error message up again, and vidomi stopped at 98% done again!!

I have no idea whats going on or why its stopping.

Here are my computer specs. Toshiba Laptop, 1.5Ghz Celeron, 256mb ram, 20gb hdd, Windows 2000 Pro.