Video games, adrenaline, & high blood pressure

I have recently been playing Need For Speed Most Wanted on PC, it is a very fun game, but I have been experiencing some sporadic high blood pressure/heart racing symptoms as I am playing at times. Not all the time, but during some races, I don’t know if it is adrenaline, blood pressure increase, or both, but this has happened couple of times so far since I started playing the game about a week ago. I am googling video games and high blood pressure, but am getting vague results. I have a digital blood pressure machine, and was thinking of doing some before and after experiments. I think that it may just be a very intense game, my heart is racing, and even some adrenaline is flowing at times. I have been an avid video gamer for years, but never gotten a rush like this from any game before. It doesn’t seem to last long at all though, my heart was racing when I started typing this thread, and I’m almost completely back to normal now.

i think it’s normal that you have high blood preasure while playing NFS:MW, as you get angry while playing because of the f*cking cheating AI! :stuck_out_tongue:
just play Doom3 - with lights turned off and a loud sound system (and WIHTOUT any mod or cheat!) and you’ll see what REAL high blood preasure can feel like… :wink:

I think that does have alot to do with it. :iagree:

Pfff he should play FEAR with lights turned off and a decent sound system, preferably at night. Or maybe he doesnt want a heart attack? :bigsmile:

I have that game, and it scares the hell out of me…I only play it for about 10 or 15 minutes at a time every once in a while. LOL! :iagree:

well, i don’t know what you fear when you play F.E.A.R., but when i was playing this kiddie-game (it was @ night, starting late on friday, finishing it around 9 hours later, using audigy 2zs 5.1 EAX sound) it didn’t shock me as much as doom 3 did.