Video Editing

A few days ago I posted a question about the best video editing software on another site and received a lot of helpful information. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to do anything with the camera I was using as I needed to order an iLink cable so I could put the video on my computer without loss of quality.

Well I just now received the cable in the mail and went to work uploading a video to my computer. The software I was using is from the Sony website and was originally designed for systems up to Windows XP.

Recently I got Vista and had to upgrade the software. I am a complete amateur when it comes to video editing and it’s about the only thing on the computer I have never had experience with.

Anyways, the software is called Sony Picture Utility. The Camera is a Sony Handycam, model #DCR-HC21.

I am trying to upload about 36 minutes of video off of my handy cam (Mini DV tapes) and still make them fit onto a dvd.

The problem is that after 8 minutes of streaming I stopped the video to check the quality and size and am greatly surprised to find that after only 8 minutes, the size is already 1.7gb. It’s in avi format.

The problem with this is that the quality is excellent but 1.7gb is massive. There are also no video quality settings in this software.

I need to get this video onto my computer and then onto a dvd to ship to my mother in Texas(Im in California) because the video is part of her Christmas present which as you can probably tell, is already extremely late.

I figured I would use ConvertXtoDvd to put it on the dvd but need it to be a smaller avi without much loss of quality, if it’s at all possible.

So any information about shrinking etc is really going to help me. I was thinking about streaming it to the computer and then trying to shrink it afterwards but am not sure if this is the right thing to do. I just don’t understand how a two hour avi/dvd rip can be 700 mbs and my 8 min video is almost two gbs. PLEASE HELP ME!

Thanks!

• Jusdafide