VERY new to copying DVDs... and problem with DVD Fab

vbimport

I’m very new to trying to copy a DVD. My older computer gave me problems just trying to burn music CDs so I gave up on learning at that time. Recently bought a new Acer Laptop and its awesome. I’m trying to make a copy of a DVD I have to send a friend.

Here’s the problem.

Before I got my computer, I had another friend take the original DVD to a friend of her’s to make her a copy. She made a copy for her, a copy for me and I got the original back. I also supplied the blank DVDs. The copied DVD played fine in my home DVD player (older Toshiba…just not sure how old). So, I tried to make a copy of the same DVD using DVDFab Platinum.

The first problem I had was that after I inserted a blank DVD, it wasn’t recognizing it. I tried (several times before I guess I got it right) to format the disk. FINALLY got a copy made and the stupid thing won’t play in my home player. I’m using the same disks we used for the other copies we have.

Is it a problem with my DVD player or am I copying them wrong???

Welcome to CDFreaks Forum; Try to use brand name media for copying and use Nero express (can be downloaded from www.nero.com in case you don’t have Nero and use it as trail period for 30 day).

Nero recently changed their trial period from 30 days to 15 days. While it’s not as generous as it used to be, 15 days could be enough time to see if it’s worth purchasing.

The blank DVDs are Sony. Is that a good brand name???

Is there a particular reason the DVDFab stuff isn’t working or is it just not as good of (or the right) program?

Thanks for the input!!!

You do not have to format the disc before doing a backup, DVDFab Platinum is a GREAT program if you having trouble with it you will get better help in the DVDFab section use the link below
http://club.cdfreaks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=116