Verbatim DVD-R Made in India?

vbimport

I was reading the newegg reviews for the Verbatim DVD-R discs, and people said to make sure to get the ones in the blue/purple wrapping (made in Taiwan) and to avoid the ones in the orange/blue wrapping (made in India). I noticed amazon showed the blue/purple wrapping so I ordered it, and they sent me the orange/blue India discs. :frowning:

I’m new to DVD burning… if the Verbatim Taiwan discs are good, then is any brand made in Taiwan good? I’m going to go to the store to try to find good quality media - what should I look for? And does it matter if I get DVD-R or DVD+R discs?

Did you try one of those MII Verbatims or are you just sending them back. Unfortunately not all discs made in Taiwan are good. The two most recommended brands of blank media would be Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden, the latter being impossible to find in stores, so therefore you have to buy them online. The only TYs I have found in a store were Sony 8X Dvd+R, 50 pack spindle, made in Japan. Of course when you buy online you don’t know which TYs you are getting either. Nowadays it really doesn’t matter if you buy Dvd-R or Dvd+R, but with Dvd+R, if your drive supports it, they can be booktyped to Dvd-Rom, which is the profile of a commercial Dvd.

The blue/purple packaging is for DVD+R media while the orange/blue packaging is for DVD-R media - it has nothing to do with country of origin.

Some of my best stuff is Verbatim Made in India - don’t assume it’s bad just because someone said so at Newegg.

I’ve had no problems thus far with the MII’s.

I’ve only had a few of them because i typically use TY’s; but i’ve got a stash of Verbatims. One spindle is MIT and the other MII.

[QUOTE=DrageMester;2052496]The blue/purple packaging is for DVD+R media while the orange/blue packaging is for DVD-R media - it has nothing to do with country of origin.

Some of my best stuff is Verbatim Made in India - don’t assume it’s bad just because someone said so at Newegg.[/QUOTE]