Verbatim DVD+R DL Max Write Speed?

vbimport

This is probably a stupid question but this is my first time burning dual layer disks. Why are these disks labeled at 2.4X write speed when I seem to be able to burn them at 8X with Nero and my Pioneer 116d ? What is the recommended burn speed for best quality ?

ThanX:bow:

Gary

2.4x is the lowest possible speed they are rated for.
8x is the max.

Chef, you could have spent an extra 15 seconds saying what speed is optimal, but I guess you wouldn’t have 24,000 posts if you did.

4x is most likely the sweet spot. I find that it is with my writers. Btw many of Verbatims DVD+DL media say 2.4x but they are safe to write much faster, that’s why you are allowed to burn faster.

I would personally stick with 4x for best quality (6x as a maximum). 2.4x is bad as it is too slow to use in a really new writer like the Pioneer 116 (can produce lower quality).

I guess times have changed ? Instead of manufacturers listing the maximum speed a disk is rated at they now list the minimun speed :confused:

4X it is :slight_smile:

ThanX for the quick replies :slight_smile:

Well some Verbatim DL media actually says 2.4x on the front but also says “up to 6x on some writers” also. It’s not the first time a disc could be written much higher than it is rated for.

Good luck with the burning, I’m sure you will be fine as Pioneers are very good writers.

[QUOTE=cd pirate;2170772]Chef, you could have spent an extra 15 seconds saying what speed is optimal, but I guess you wouldn’t have 24,000 posts if you did.

4x is most likely the sweet spot. I find that it is with my writers. Btw many of Verbatims DVD+DL media say 2.4x but they are safe to write much faster, that’s why you are allowed to burn faster.

I would personally stick with 4x for best quality (6x as a maximum). 2.4x is bad as it is too slow to use in a really new writer like the Pioneer 116 (can produce lower quality).[/QUOTE]