Verbatim DVD+R 16x (MCC004) all unreadable... help?

vbimport

I’m quite new to all of this, but very recently I discovered that, I believe, a 50 pack of Verbatim DVD+R 16x I bough just around half a year ago are now right around unreadable. My burns around March cannot be recognized by my computer, and now burns the beginning of May are very “spotty”, as in my computer can read them 20% of the time I insert them in.

Browsing this forum I see very technical images and graphs, but for all I know all of my Verbatims have gone to waste. Is there a possible explanation for this? I burnt some Maxells the same time as the Verbatims and they read just fine now. I’m just baffled (and disgusted) at such a quick degradation from such a well known brand.

My conclusion is that I can’t trust Verbatim anymore. :frowning:

Does anyone else share similar experiences or is this a stroke of bad luck?

How have you stored your disks? What speed did you burn them at? What make was the burner you burnt them with?

Stored in 50 pack spindle. In a closet I store all of my VHSs in as well.

I have a Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-107D burner with the most updated firmware, 1.22

All burnt at 4x.

I’m just beginning to think that I got a bad batch. Which is very frustrating because the deterioration of these discs were faster than fast.

hmm… this is too low a speed for 16x media. You should have burnt at at least 8x. However it shouldnt have degraded.

You probably got a bad batch, it happens from time to time, have you got any other verbatims from another batch you have burnt before (or after) that time?

I am actually unsure if I did buy another 50 pack the same time. I’m in the process of testing all of my DVDs (which are a lot and a tedious task), and when I do get through them all, I will know for sure. So far, about 90% of my Verbatims are unreadable. I may have to back them up quickly if this trend continues.